Reading Response:

Jean-Francois Augoyard, Henry Torgue and their team of research’s take an in-depth consider wide spread body of work spanning anywhere from musicology to the physics of sound. They take us through a volume of eighty sonic/auditory effects. This reading relates to my project as it takes a comprehensive consider multiple sonic sounds the effects they have on a listener and the space their being played in. I took a particular interest into Anamnesis and the Doppler effect as I felt these types of sonic sounds would really help me to fully understand how I would create my sound piece and give me a more in-depth look into how my sound piece was actually going to effect my listeners.

Doppler Effect:

In the early stages of this project The Doppler effect was a big influence on how my piece was going to sound, I knew from the beginning that I wanted to play on the aspect of moving sound around a space. I feel that moving a sound around a space gives the piece an added effect without needing to distort the sounds in anyway. Physicist Christian-Johnn Doppler first noticed this effect through sound and then also with light. This perceptive alteration in sound is due to the relationship between the movement of sound waves between the listener and the sound. A sound source that is closer to the listener is perceived to be higher in pitch than it is, whereas the opposite can be said for a sound that is further away from the listener. This phenomenon relies on the speed and movement of the sound source in comparison to the listener, when both sound source and listener are moving in the same direction the frequency rises. Compared to if they move in opposite directions the frequency drops. When considering this effect when starting my sound piece, I knew I had to consider the pitch, reverb and volume of the sounds to make it a successful Doppler effect. I did test play with this effect which turned out quite well however when it came to applying it to my actual piece, the sound I was using mixed in with the Doppler effect didn’t produce the sound I was wanting for my piece. However, I am thankful that I considered it as it helped me to apply more movement into my final piece.

Anamnesis:

This effect is very interesting as it considers how a sound can evoke the listener to reminisce about a memory. This effect relies on the listener’s subconscious mind tapping into their memories and relating their present senses with their past senses. The beauty of this effect is that no matter what the subject matter of a piece or whether it be musical, sonic or atmospheric sounds they can all evoke a memory within a listener. I found this particularly intriguing when considering this effect as we were doing a rather unique subject matter. This effect gave us another avenue to pursue when creating this piece and giving it a relatable factor for the listener. I think that this effect is the main force driving our piece. As we were doing food sounds, our piece evokes the viewers sense of taste and smell. The sizzling in the pan can relate to the longing of the taste of sausages on a Sunday morning and the sound of a burp could take the listener back to an embarrassing burp they may not want to remember. Therefore, our piece uses the phenomenon of Anamnesis to  bring these different feelings and many others to our audience.

Augoyard. Jean-Francois & Torgue. Henri, Andra McCartney (Translator) (2006) Sonic Experience: A Guide to Everyday Sounds, Massachusetts, MIT Press, http://xenopraxis.net/readings/augoyard_sonicexperiencecomplete.pdf

McGill-Queen’s University Press, (2006) Sonic Experience McGill-Queen’s University Press, http://www.mqup.ca/sonic-experience-products-9780773529427.php

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑