Change of Idea

After thinking about my concept again I realised it wasn’t that strong. I was driving to work with my friend and we were talking about this assignment and an ambulance drove by. My friend is very into science and started talking about the doppler effect, she said that could be an avenue to look into for my project as she loved studying it in science. So I looked it up and did some research.

The doppler effect is an increase (or decrease) in the frequency of sound, light, or other waves as the source and observer move towards (or away from) each other. The effect causes the sudden change in pitch noticeable in a passing siren, as well as the red shift seen by astronomers. I found this very interesting as I hadn’t really explored this in my previous sound project.

I thought that I could use the beats of different objects and have them moving while I was recording the different sound changes. After talking to my lecturerI realised that it wasn’t going to capture the concept in my piece fully.

Megan was with me when speaking with my lecturer, her idea was very similar to mine as she wanted to create the elution of various forms of transport moving in a space via multi channels. The doppler effect matched very well with this idea as the effect mostly occurs in transport in our day to day life. For example emergency cars, truck etc speeding past us on the road, a train passing by. We decided to collaborate on this project as we were both looking into the different side of a similar theme. However the theme of transport and the doppler effect seemed to obvious and un creative so we started to through random ideas into the mix and came up with food. A very unlikely combination with the doppler effect but thats what made it interesting. We laughed that I could be a metaphor art piece for uber eats, or a take way food delivery. Meals on Wheels!

So our combined idea is to record different sounds of people eating food, playing with food, any surrounding sounds that relate to food, put them into logic pro and play with the pitch, volume and reverbs of each recording to create the doppler effect. Then mix them together in a multi channel piece so it sounds like the food is moving.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

